Council Elections

MAV Citizen to Councillor.JPG
Local Government elections are held every four years. The Horsham Rural City Council general election will take place in October 2020.  The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) run a postal election on behalf of Horsham Rural City Council.  Ballot papers will be mailed to residents during the period 6 to 8 October 2020.  Voting closes at 6pm on 23 October 2020.

Seven Councillors will be elected to represent the municipality.

Council's Election Period Policy is a requirement of Section 93B of the Local Government Act 1989 (‘the Act’) and has been developed to ensure that Horsham Rural City Council’s local general elections to be held in October 2020, and subsequent elections, are conducted in a manner that is ethical, fair and equitable, and are publicly perceived as such. 

Information on voting, voting entitlements, timelines and enrollment is available on the Victorian Electoral Commission website.

The following external links are a valuable resource for prospective candidates and voters:


Prospective Candidates 


Important Dates

  • Nomination Day - Tuesday 22 September 2020
  • Close of Postal Voting - Friday 23 October 2020, 6pm
  • Statutory Meeting - Thursday 12 November 2020, 5.30pm
  • First meeting of new Council - Monday 23 November 2020, 5.30pm


The content on this web page will be updated as information comes to hand from external sources, so please check back regularly.