CITY OF HORSHAM

The City of Horsham was a <u>local government area</u> about 290 kilometres (180 mi) west-northwest of <u>Melbourne</u>, the state capital of <u>Victoria</u>, <u>Australia</u>. The municipality covered an area of 23.31 square kilometres (9.0 sq mi) and existed from 1882 until 1994.

Horsham was initially part of the <u>Shire of Wimmera</u>, and was first incorporated as a borough on 17 November 1882. It became a town on 16 November 1932, and was proclaimed a city on 25 May 1949.

On 20 January 1995, the City of Horsham was abolished, and along with parts of the Shires of Arapiles, Kowree and Wimmera, was merged into the newly created Rural City of Horsham.

PAST MAYORS

MAYOR	DATE OF APPOINTMENT

William Drummond 31 January 1883

Thomas Young August 1884

Carl Rassmussen 23 April 1885

Samuel May August 1885

James Brake 17 August 1886

Arthur Hocking 19 August 1886

Robert Clark senior 16 August 1987

William Robinson 1 August 1888

Francis Williams 12 August 1889

Angus Cameron 19 August 1890

Thomas Twycross 18 August 1891

Samuel May 30 August 1892

William Osborn 29 August 1893

James Kenny 16 August 1895

Cornelius Curran 31 August 1897

Henry Bradshaw 20 August 1898

John Weldon Power 19 August 1899

Archibald Arnott 31 August 1987

James Davis 26 August 1901

John Crump 1 September 1903

James Davis 10 May 1904

James Millar 30 August 1904

Traugott Noske 27 August 1906

Samuel Jones 26 August 1907

John Clarkson 7 September 1908

Franz Puls 13 September 1910

Francis Williams 3 June 1912

Paul Gerlach 26 August 1912

John Hennessy 1 September 1913

Francis Millar 31 August 1914

James Barnes 27 August 1915

Francis Millar 27 March 1916

James Barnes 1 July 1916

Stephen Knight 28 August 1916

John Bennett 30 August 1920

Wilson Bolton August 1921

David Anderson August 1922

Francis Langlands 27 August 1923

James Barnes 1 September 1924

Reginald Wilmoth 31 August 1925

F. Wesley Rodda August 1926

John Bennett August 1927

David Anderson August 1929

Francis Langlands August 1930

James Barnes 31 August 1931

A. Lenord Hutchesson 29 August 1932

James Barnes	28 August 1933
Reginald Wilmoth	26 August 1935
A. Lenord Hutchesson	31 August 1938
James Barnes	30 August 1937
Leonard Bowden	29 August 1938
Reginald Wilmoth	28 August 1939
Robert Charles	26 August 1940
F. Wesley Rodda	1 September 1941
Wilfred Smith	31 August 1942
John Menadue	30 August 1943
Wilfred Smith	1 February 1944
A. Lenord Hutchesson	31 August 1944
Robert Charles	31 August 1945
Wilfred Smith	30 August 1946
William R. Lawrence	5 September 1947
lan T. Bennett	2 September 1949
William Morson	5 September 1952
Thomas Conroy	31 August 1956
Ronald Shepherd	3 September 1958
Ernest Gerlach	4 September 1959
Lionel Reid	2 September 1960
Raymond Buckley	August 1961
Ernest Gerlach	31 August 1962
C.H. Harold Schwarz	30 August 1963
William Morson	4 September 1964
J. William McDowell	30 August 1967
Reginald Dixon	30 August 1968
J. William McDowell	5 September 1969

Ross Webster 4 September 1970

Brian Hutchesson 3 September 1971

Thomas Windsor 31 August 1973

Brian McGrath 30 August 1974

Robert Kirsopp 5 September 1975

Brian Brooke 3 September 1976

Jan van Veldhuisen 1977 – 1978

Brian Brooke 1978 - 1980

Donald Johns 14 August 1980

Kevin Dellar 13 August 1981

Jozef Velthuis 12 August 1982

Ray Pummeroy 10 November 1983

Robert Atkins 9 August 1984

Donald Johns 8 August 1985

Ray Pummeroy 7 August 1986

Jozef Velthuis 6 August 1987

Donald Johns 11 August 1988

Kevin Dellar 10 August 1989

Gayle Crooke 9 August 1990

William Roberts 8 August 1991

Hugh Delahunty 6 August 1992

Dennis Witmitz 12 August 1993

Suzanne Brooks 11 August 1994