#### Horsham Rural City Council

MINUTES of the Special Meeting of the Horsham Rural City Council held in the Municipal Chamber, Civic Centre, Horsham at 5.30pm on 3 July 2019.

#### Order of Business

#### PRESENT

Cr Mark Radford, Mayor, Cr Pam Clarke, Cr David Grimble, Cr Alethea Gulvin, Cr Josh Koenig, Cr Les Power.

#### ALSO IN ATTENDANCE

Sunil Bhalla, Chief Executive Officer; Graeme Harrison, Director Corporate Services; Rob Moir, Acting Director Infrastructure Services; Stephen Pykett, Acting Director Development Services; Mandi Stewart, Acting Director Community Wellbeing; Sue Frankham, Governance Officer; Diana McDonald, Co-ordinator Governance.

Robin Barber	Di Bell	Kerrie Bell	Tom Blair
David Bowe	Nick Carey	Lyn Creasey	Andrea Cross
Alex Darling	Kevin Dellar	Gary Devlin	Andrew Dorman
Kath Dumesny	Barry Dunn	Gaye Eltze	Betty Etherton
Sue Exell	Donna Frost	Jenny Grimble	Jessica Grimble
Joan Hiscock	Neil Hiscock	David Hobbs	David Hortley
Owen Hughan	Scott Johns	Justine Kingan	Brian Klowss
Cheryl Linke	Frances Macdonald	David McDonald	Glenn Mibus
Allan Mills	Fletcher Mills	Allan Meyer	Gillian Mulhallen
Jeffrey Mulhallen	James Murphy	Libby Peucker	Russell Peucker
Neville Pope	lan Rees	June Revere	Glenn Ryan
Louise Ryan	Dawn Scott	Robert Somers	Susan Surridge
Brett Thompson	Maree Thompson	Marj Wiederman	

## 1. PRAYER

Chairman, Cr Mark Radford recited the following pledge on behalf of all Councillors:

Almighty God, we pledge ourselves to work in harmony for, the social, cultural and economic wellbeing of our Rural City. Help us to be wise in our deliberations and fair in our actions, so that prosperity and happiness shall be the lot of our people. AMEN

## 2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY STATEMENT

Chairman, Cr Mark Radford read the following Acknowledgement of Country Statement:

The Horsham Rural City Council acknowledges the five Traditional Owner groups of this land; the Wotjobaluk, Wergaia, Jupagalk, Jaadwa and Jadawadjali people. We recognise the important and ongoing place that all Indigenous people hold in our community.

We pay our respects to the Elders, both past and present, and commit to working together in the spirit of mutual understanding and respect for the benefit of the broader community and future generations.

### Horsham Rural City Council

# 3. OPENING AND WELCOME

Chairman, Cr Mark Radford formally welcomed those in attendance to the Special Council Meeting. The Mayor advised the public that the Special Council Meeting will be recorded to maintain an audio archive.

## 4. APOLOGIES

Cr John Robinson

## 5. LEAVE OF ABSENCE REQUESTS

Nil

## 6. CONFLICTS OF INTEREST

Nil

### Horsham Rural City Council

### **Special Council Meeting**

## 7. NOTICE OF MOTION

## 7.1 NOTICE OF MOTION NO 172

Given by Cr John Robinson attached as Appendix "7.1A".

#### Recommendation

That the following motion passed by Council on Monday 24 June 2019 be rescinded:

### MOVED Cr Pam Clarke, Seconded Cr Alethea Gulvin

That Council receive and note the City to River – Wimmera River Precinct and Central Activities District Background Report (May 2019), Wimmera River Precinct and Central Activities District Technical Report, Horsham Sporting Facilities Demand Study (May 2019) and Wimmera River Precinct and Horsham Central Activities District Vision and Masterplan (June 2019) and exhibit to the community for 28 days and invite comment.

CARRIED

#### **Council Motion**

### MOVED Cr David Grimble, Seconded Cr Alethea Gulvin

That the following motion passed by Council on Monday 24 June 2019 be rescinded:

### MOVED Cr Pam Clarke, Seconded Cr Alethea Gulvin

That Council receive and note the City to River – Wimmera River Precinct and Central Activities District Background Report (May 2019), Wimmera River Precinct and Central Activities District Technical Report, Horsham Sporting Facilities Demand Study (May 2019) and Wimmera River Precinct and Horsham Central Activities District Vision and Masterplan (June 2019) and exhibit to the community for 28 days and invite comment.

MOTION LOST

### Cr David Grimble called for a division of Council

### In favour of the motion:

Cr David Grimble Cr Josh Koenig

Against the motion:

Cr Les Power Cr Pam Clarke Cr Alethea Gulvin Cr Mark Radford

The meeting closed at 6.00pm.

The Mayor, Cr Mark Radford Chairperson